Facebook Follow AMS on Linkedin Follow us on Twitter @amsmenopausen AMS on Instagram

AMS Congress 2012

It is a great pleasure to invite you to be part of the 16th Congress of the Australasian Menopause Society in Melbourne in mid-October. For many leaders and decision-makers in women’s health care, each AMS Congress has become a ‘must attend’ annual forum.

Our Scientific Program Committee, chaired by Dr Anna Fenton, has been building a program around the ‘new directions’ theme. The response to our invitations from our special list of local and overseas speakers has been really enthusiastic and we look forward to their leadership and presentations, also the program’s interactive sessions and panel discussions. Topics for discussion in Melbourne include:

  • Effective Health Screening
  • Sleep Disorders and Menopause
  • Cognition/Parkinson’s Disease
  • Gynecological Issues in the Menopausal/Perimenopausal Woman
  • Sexual Health
  • Musculoskeletal Health

The Congress will also mark the 25th Anniversary of the Society. A special party at the Melbourne Aquarium will celebrate the journey of AMS from its fledgling start 25 years ago. The fact that every past president of AMS is still interested and active in this area of medicine, speaks volumes for the strength of purpose of AMS and its ongoing commitment to providing excellent evidence-based input. This is not only about menopause, but increasingly about all aspects of women’s mid life health. We especially invite all members of AMS to this Congress and the party as well as warmly welcome those that are not yet members.

AMS Congresses are more than ordinary medical meetings. The medicine is excellent but there is always friendship, networking and fun to be found. If you plan to attend just one conference a year, this meeting gives busy GP’s an update not only in menopause but also in many areas of general medicine with takehome practical ideas to inspire and guide improvements for their practice.

Melbourne is sophisticated and slick, edgy and filled with contrasts. Its ornate Victorian-era architecture and leafy boulevards which reflect its history, mix with cutting-edge developments and trams lumbering along amid all the buzz. Then there are galleries, shops, restaurants. Don’t miss it!

A/Prof. Beverley Vollenhoven and Dr Jane Elliott

Organising Committee
  • A/Prof.Beverley Vollenhoven- Congress Chair
  • Dr Jane Elliott – AMS President 2011 – 2013
  • Dr Elizabeth Farrell AM
  • Dr Anna Fenton
  • Prof. Martha Hickey
  • Ms Judith Hocking
  • Dr Ann Olsson
  • Dr Linda Spinks
  • Prof. Lily Stojanovska
  • Prof. Bronwyn Stuckey
  • Dr Amanda Vincent
  • Ms Sandra Yeowart
  • Ms Lee Tregloan – AMS Executive Director
Scientific Committee 
  • Dr Anna Fenton
    Scientific Program Committee Chair 
  • Dr Sonia Davison 
  • Dr Elizabeth Farrell AM 
  • Prof. Martha Hickey 
  • Dr Christine Read 
  • Dr Amanda Vincent 
  • A/Prof. Beverley Vollenhoven


Key Dates

Abstract Submission Closes – extended to 6 August 2012
Early Bird Registration Deadline – 24 August 2012
Author Registration Deadline – 24 August 2012
Congress Opens – 12 October 2012
Congress Closes – 14 October 2012

Congress Program

pdfAMS Congress Program Sep 2012514.22 KB

Pre-Congress Update

Date: Friday 12 October 2012
Time: 9.00am - 12.15pm
Venue: Crown Promenade, Melbourne
Cost: Update only A$150.00

This year’s Pre Congress Update is designed to complement the Congress Program with a focus on Premature Menopause/Premature Ovarian Insufficiency, (POI). It will feature four presentations by prominent AMS members followed by plenty of time for your questions:

Dr Anna Fenton: Causes of POI
Prof. Rodney Baber: Long-Term Consequences of Early Estrogen Deficiency
Dr Amanda Vincent: Management of POI
Dr Elizabeth Farrell AM: How to do HRT

Registration is included in AMS 2012 Congress registration categories B, D and F, or can be purchased separately.

Great Program Leaders

An outstanding line-up of local and internationally recognised experts have been invited to speak at the AMS 2012 Congress including. 

  • Dr Pauline Maki
  • Dr Deborah Bateson
  • Prof. Robin Bell
  • Prof. Flavia Cicuttini
  • Dr Andrew Evans
  • Dr Elizabeth Farrell AM
  • Prof. Martha Hickey
  • Dr Emma Guymer
  • Dr Darren Mansfield
  • Dr Rod Marshall
  • Dr Kathy McNamee
  • Dr Kym Reid
  • Prof. Helena Teede
  • Dr Wendy Vanselow
  • A/Prof. Beverley Vollenhoven
  • A/Prof. Brendon Yee
Prospectus for Sponsors and Exhibitors

alt AMS Congress 2012 Prospectus 1.27 Mb


Content Updated 10 August 2012


Print Email


Facebook Follow AMS on Linkedin Follow us on Twitter @amsmenopauseAMS on Instagram